Global SME Finance Awards

Global SME Finance Awards

The 2024 Global SME Finance Awards competition opens April 3!

Welcome to the seventh annual Global SME Finance Awards!

In all the categories, we look forward to hearing from financial intermediaries from across the spectrum and globe, to share what they are doing and what they are learning so that we can learn from one another and expand access to finance for small and medium businesses.

What's New in 2024

  • Four Award Categories - Best Financier for Women Entrepreneurs, Product Innovation of the Year, SME Financier of the Year and Sustainable Bond of the Year.
  • Introduction of Client subsegments in SME Financier of the Year category:
    • Commercial banks (includes co-operative banks, rural banks, specialized banks)
    • DFIs including Guarantee Agencies (includes local and international DFIs, credit guarantee and risk mitigation providers, specialized SME entities in countries)
    • Non-bank and Fintech lenders (includes non-bank financial institutions, leasing, and factoring companies, fintech lenders, digital lenders, embedded finance players, digital banks)
    • Platforms and Technology Innovators (companies that don’t lend directly to SMEs but enable SME lending through provision of innovative lending technology, B2B or B2C marketplaces, SME credit ratings)
  • Under Product Innovation of the Year award, we seek applications across a broad range of products such as Sustainability linked, Digital, Loan-Based, Asset backed finance, Trade & Supply Chain, Guarantees, Agrifinance, Transactional, Treasury-Linked etc.
  • The winners across Best Financier for Women Entrepreneurs, Product Innovation of the Year, SME Financier of the Year will be awarded regionally.
  • Finalists will be announced ahead of our Annual Event in Sao Paolo.

Winners will be announced at the 2024 Global SME Finance Forum

Affiliated with

Key Dates

Deadline for submission:
5 July 2024
Winners Announced:
September 2024
Location TBD


1.The competition is open to any and all financiers serving SMEs - banks, NBFIs, financial institutions, fintech companies, etc

2. Each institution can apply in up to three categories

3. . Each nomination form is valid for 1 entry only. If you are applying in three categories, please enter each entry separately.

4. Applications must be in English.

5. Nomination is free of charge.

How to apply?

  • Register on the Awards Platform
  • Select your category
  • Follow the process to address the criteria and complete your entry
  • Upload supporting documents
  • Submit application
  • You will receive a confirmation that your nomination has been received
  • Submit your entries by 5 July, 2024.

If your question has not been answered in the FAQ, section please send your question to the awards organizers by clicking on the button below.


Awards will be judged by a global committee of industry experts. Judging criteria is specific to each category and is based solely on the questions asked. For sample applications, please click on each category below (please note that applications must be submitted through the Award Force platform).
What is the number of SMEs served/financed and volume of financing provided/loan outstanding to the SMEs both directly and indirectly?
Uniqueness & Innovation
Has the project introduced new or cutting-edge innovation? How original is the idea compared to solutions that are currently in use?
Effectiveness & Impact
Did the project/product/service achieve its objectives and targets? What measures have been used to assess its success? What was the impact to your company and industry?
Dynamism & Scalability
Is the strategy, project, service or product flexible to changes and progressive opportunities?