Global SME Finance Awards

Global SME Finance Awards

Deadline Extended to July 15!

Welcome to the fifth annual Global SME Finance Awards!

A new category and applications in up to 3 categories!

Never one to rest on our laurels, we have made some changes to this year’s competition by adding a fifth category in partnership with the Green Bond Technical Assistance Program (GB-TAP) Sustainable Bond of the Year - to identify institutions that demonstrate a sustained commitment to serving the SME sector in its market(s) through social, green, or sustainability bonds. Seeking entries from financial institutions that have implemented a bond program or issued a bond and can share how that has had a positive impact on SMEs.

Deadline for Sustainable Bond of the Year category is July 22

In partnership with

Also new this year, financiers can now enter in up to three (3) categories, not just two as in all previous years.

In all of the categories, we look forward to hearing from financial intermediaries from across the spectrum and globe, to share what they are doing and what they are learning so that we can learn from one another and expand access to finance for small and medium businesses.

Special recognition for entries from IDA and Fragile and Conflict-Affected Situations

Special recognition will be given in the SME Financier of the Year and the Product Innovation of the Year categories for entries that present work and innovations focused in any of the World Bank’s designated IDA countries and/or fragile and conflict-affected situations (FCS).

Winners will be announced at the 2022 SME Finance Forum September 19-21, 2022

Affiliated with

Key Dates

Deadline for submission:
July 15 2022
Winners Announced:
19-21 September 2022
Location TBD


1.The competition is open to any and all financiers serving SMEs - banks, NBFIs, financial institutions, fintech companies, etc

2. Each institution can apply in up to three categories

3. . Each nomination form is valid for 1 entry only. If you are applying in three categories, please enter each entry separately.

4. Nomination is free of charge.

How to apply?

  • Register on the Awards Platform
  • Select your category
  • Follow the process to address the criteria and complete your entry
  • Upload supporting documents
  • Submit application
  • You will receive a confirmation that your nomination has been received
  • Submit your entries by July 15, 2022

If your question has not been answered in the FAQ, section please send your question to the awards organizers by clicking on the button below.


Awards will be judged by a committee of industry experts. Judging criteria is specific to each category and may include the following areas
What is the number of SMEs served/financed and volume of financing provided/loan outstanding to the SMEs both directly and indirectly?
Uniqueness & Innovation
Has the project introduced new or cutting-edge innovation? How original is the idea compared to solutions that are currently in use?
Effectiveness & Impact
Did the project/product/service achieve its objectives and targets? What measures have been used to assess its success? What was the impact to your company and industry?
Dynamism & Scalability
Is the strategy, project, service or product flexible to changes and progressive opportunities?